ePANACEA

Smart European Energy Performance AssessmeNt And CErtificAtion
 

The EPC (energy performance certification) for buildings is an EU-wide information tool which was introduced by the energy performance of buildings directive (EPBD) in 2002. The current EPC faces several challenges such as little convergence amoug EU member states and lack of accuracy regarding both, the energy performance assessment and recommendations for renovation measures. Besides that, current literature points out a cap between theoretical and real energy performance, which is partially due to the non-consideration of user behavior.

The aim of the project is to adress these challenges by developing a holistic methodology for the energy performance assessment and certification of buildings. The new methodology shall allow for an EU-wide implementation, such that EPCs provide valid information, which is not only more accurate and understandable, but which can also be compared within the EU. In addition, the EPC is understood as a tool to increase the energy awareness of users. On these grounds, the new EPC shall incentivize new measures which contribute to forward the energy transition in the building sector.

In the project ePANACEA a prototype of a smart energy performance assessment platform (SEPAC) will be developed. The platform will encompass the most advanced techniques in dynamic and automated simulation modelling, big data analysis, machine learning, inverse modelling, the estimation of potential energy savings and an econmic viability check.

In order to ensure a fluent dialogue with European policy makers, certification bodies and end users ePANACEA incorporates two types of participatory actions: On the one hand, a feedback-loop with policy makers is established and carried out by Regional Exploitation Boards (REBs) which cover the EU member states and Norway. On the other hand, a dialogue with end-users will be enabled through thematic workshops. In this way, ePANACEA ensures that the acceptance of the developed methology is tested and validated.

 

Project objectives

  • Demonstrating the potential of improvement of the effectiveness of energy performance assessments and related EPCs
  • Generating trust in the market, in order to contribute to trigger investments in buildings to increase energy efficiency
  • Faciliating the wide exploitation of the new EPC methodology in the EU member states
  • Developing a standardized data form, which will enable building data exchange

 

Project design

Das project consists of 8 work packages (WP):

  • WP1 - Project management
  • WP2 - Common framework for a modular methodology
  • WP3 - User perceptions
  • WP4 - Methodology development
  • WP5 - Demonstration and validation
  • WP6 - Dissemination, exploitation and replication potential
  • WP7 - Communication
  • WP8 - Ethics requirements

The IZES gGmbH is mainly working on WP3. The work can be divided into three main thematic strands

  1. The identification of stakeholders, who use EPCs
  2. a user-need-analysis of EPCs to provide input for the tool development of the new EPC, followed by two tests of acceptance of the developed methodology
  3. exploring energy behaviors in buildings in order to integrate behavioral patterns in the calculation of the energy performance in the new methodology developed in ePANACEA

 

Partners

 

Funding

 

Laufzeit: 
06/2020 to 05/2023
Kontakt:

ePANACEA

Smart European Energy Performance AssessmeNt And CErtificAtion
          (Smarte Bewertung und Zertifizierung der Energieeffizienz)

Der Energieausweis für Gebäude (EPC- energy performance certificate) ist ein EU-weites Informationsinstrument, das 2002 durch die EU-Richtlinie zur Gesamtenergieeffizienz von Gebäuden eingeführt wurde. Der heutige Energieausweis weist mehrere Defizite auf, z.B. wenig Übereinstimmung innerhalb der EU-Mitgliedstaaten und Ungenauigkeiten in der Berechnung der Energieeffizienz sowie bezüglich der Angaben zu Maßnahmen. Zudem dokumentieren bisherige Studien eine Diskrepanz zwischen berechneter und realer Energieleistung von Gebäuden, welche u.a. durch das Nutzerverhalten bedingt sind.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, durch die Entwicklung einer ganzheitlichen Mess- und Berechnungsmethodik, diese Probleme zu adressieren. Es soll eine EU-weite Implementierung ermöglicht werden, sodass Energieausweise valide Informationen liefern, die nicht nur akkurater und verständlicher sind, sondern auch EU-weit verglichen werden können. Zudem werden die Energieausweise als eine Möglichkeit zur Sensibilisierung hinsichtlich eines höheren Energiebewusstseins verstanden. Dadurch sollen Energieausweise die Grundlage neuer Maßnahmen zur Erreichung der Energiewendeziele im Gebäudesektor bilden.

Im Projekt ePANACEA wird ein Prototyp einer digitalen Plattform zur Bewertung der Energieeffizienz (SEPAP) entwickelt, welcher automatische und dynamische Modellierung, Big-Data-Analysen, Machine Learning, Inverses Modellieren, Schätzungen des Energiesparpotentials und Überprüfung der Wirtschaftlichkeit umfasst.

Um die Nutzerfreudlichkeit und Akzeptanz des neuen Energieausweises zu gewährleisten, wird während der Entwicklung der Dialog mit Akteur*innen aus allen Ebenen hergestellt: In Form von regionalen Erschließungsgremien (REB) werden politische Entscheidungsträger aller EU-Staaten und Norwegen eingebunden, während Endnutzer und weitere Stakeholder in Form von Workshops und Interviews in die Entwicklung der neuen EPC-Methode einbezogen werden.

 

Projektziele

  • Aufzeigen des Verbesserungspotenzials hinsichtlich der Effektivität von Energieeffizienz-Bewertungen und Energieausweisen
  • Vertrauen in den Markt generieren, um Investitionen in die Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden anzureizen
  • Vertreitete Nutzung der neuen EPC-Methode innerhalb der EU-Mitgliedstaaten
  • Entwicklung eines standartisierten Dateiformats, das den Austausch von Gebäudedaten ermöglicht

 

Projektstruktur

Das Projekt besteht aus 8 Arbeitspaketen (AP):

  • AP1 - Projektmanagement
  • AP2 - Gemeinsamer Referenzrahmen für eine modulare Methodik
  • AP3 - Nutzerwahrnehmung
  • AP4 - Methodenentwicklung
  • AP5 - Demonstrierung und Validierung
  • AP6 - Verbreitung, Nutzung- und Replikationspotenzial
  • AP7 - Kommunikation
  • AP8 - Ethische Anforderungen

Die IZES gGmbH ist hauptverantwortlich für AP3. Die Arbeit umfasst im Wesentlichen drei inhaltliche Schwerpunkte:

  1. Die Identifizierung von Stakeholdern, die Kontakt mit Energieausweisen haben
  2. Eine Nutzer- und Anforderungsanalyse, um die Anforderungen der Stakeholder an Energieausweise zu ermitteln, gefolgt von zwei Akzeptanz-Tests
  3. Erforschung des Energieverhaltens in Gebäuden, um Verhaltensmuster in der Energieleistungberechnung von Gebäuden innerhalb der neuen Methodik von ePANACEA zu berücksichtigen.

 

Partner

 

Förderung

 

Laufzeit: 
06/2020 bis 05/2023
Arbeitsfeld: